Creating your world

Over the past month, I have been developing a script that I am very excited about. It has taken me into realms of writing that I don’t usually venture in, but have relished every moment. One of the most rewarding moments was when I started writing a scene that suddenly had a twist I hadn’t expected. Instead of scrapping it, thinking ‘Nah, this is too weird’, I ran with it, with no idea where it will take me.

Somehow, after researching (Because this story is involved in a LOT of historical fact), I discovered something that actually fitted in perfectly with the ‘twist’ I had made up. Everything made sense and it now looks like the twist was made to fit in with the historical fact. In fact, it was the other way around. I don’t know whether I had read something somewhere that inspired me to include it, maybe I did, but all I know is that I wasn’t consciously aware of what I was writing about when I included this element.

Sometimes, when we write, we must let our story and characters tell us what they need to say. Play with this idea. When you next pick up the pen or open final draft, go with your instinct and write what feels right. Don’t worry about it not making sense at first, don’t try to control what is happening. Life doesn’t work that way all the time and neither should the worlds we create in the stories we tell. See where it leads you.

Happy writing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

